Help me pick my first tarantula species!

I’ve been wanting a tarantula for a while, and I’m feeling like I’m in a good place to pull that trigger within the next month or two. I had a Mexican Red-Knee as a kid (honestly not sure of the exact species, most likely a B. hamorii), and briefly kept a couple specimens of our local wild species as a kid before my parents made me release them (rightly so), so it wouldn’t technically be my first tarantula, but it’s been well over 20 years since those childhood experiences, so for all intents and purposes, I’m a newbie to the tarantula hobby. I’ve been heavily researching good beginner species and have narrowed it down to a few potential selections that I like. I’d love to hear from some more experienced folks who have kept one or more of these and get some feedback to compare and contrast them. Also feel free to suggest any other species not on this list you think I should consider. I’m looking for something New World that’s relatively easy to care for and generally docile (with the understanding that temperment varies between individuals and no species guarantees docility). I have no real plans to handle my T, I’d just prefer for rehousing to not be too nerve-wracking. I’d most likely be getting a sling or juvenile.

The contenders are:
-Some sort of Avicularia species (I understand their care is more or less the same across the genus)
-C. versicolor
-G. pulchripes
-B. albiceps
-E. campestratus

Eventually I’d like to have all those (and many more), the question is just which one I get first. I’m currently leaning towards the G. pulchripes due to their ease of care, availability, and beautiful adult appearance, but the faster growth rate and pretty slings of the Avicularia and C. versicolor are also appealing. And I really like all the others as well. It’s so hard to choose!

4 Likes