HELP My snakes aren’t eating

Hey guys, I’m new to the snake world. Me and my boyfriend have 2 pythons. We’ve had them for about 2 months. When we got them we followed instructions about waiting a week to feed. Their diet was and is frozen /thawed. At first they both ate a fuzzy. Which is what the breeder told us. They had threw up or spit up the fur. Then the second feeding, neither would eat a fuzzy. So we went to pinkies. Again at first they ate it. He preferred his warmed. We started warming them and noticed they were hard in places. He used to strike at the pinkies and wrap them and then eat. The last couple times he hasn’t.

She would eat hers cold up until here recently. She doesn’t strike. We could lay hers near her and she would eat it. Picture is Banana the female

3 Likes

Some clarifying questions.

You mentioned it was hard in places, are you giving them plenty of time to fully thaw before you feed them? You don’t want to feed them something that is still frozen.

You mentioned they spit up the fur, this is likely a regurgitation; it isn’t just the fur it’s the entire meal. It’s best to give them a longer break after something like that happens. That leads me to ask questions about the set up/enclosure. What’s their temps, humidity, bedding, enclosure size, etc. pics would be helpful.

7 Likes

they were not spitting up the fur. they were regurgitating the whole meal. did both regurgitate their food or only one? did it happen more than once? it sounds like it is a husbandry issue. What is the set up like? How are they being cared for? does the female wrap the mouse after grabbing it? when was the last time the male ate?

how are you warming the food for them and for how long? it sounds like the mice aren’t being thawed fully.

I am not the best when it comes to this kind of stuff but this is what I know.
@t_h_wyman @lumpy @caryl @caron will probably be able to help more than me.

Welcome to the community!

4 Likes