Help needed! Any ideas?

The pictured baby boy just won’t eat! We‘ve tried every type of prey and method we can think of! Rats, mice, frozen-thawed, pre killed, live, scented with toad, scented with bird, assist feeding, force feeding even. Should I go to a herp vet? I’m fairly new to keeping, so I thought I’d ask the more experienced. Is there anything I can do?

8 Likes

First things first… Stop holding the baby.
You do not want to be handling a snake until ideally it has eaten at least 3 times in your care so approx. 3 weeks once eating. Also the more you are attempting to feed can be stressing the little one out even more.

Second.
We definitely need more info! How is this snake being cared for? Did you hatch it or buy him? How long have you had him? What kind of home do you have set up? How often and what time of day are you trying to feed?

If you do have him set up in anything larger than a 5-10 gallon sized tank, that may be far too much space. Ball pythons like to feel secure and safe so a sparsely laid out tank with not enough hides is way too scary. It may be easier to start out with a small plastic tub, a thermostat and a heat pad to start with the basics.
Small and secure works best because they are ambush hunters. A small hide that almost barely covers them fully is what they tend to like best.

Personally, I had a VERY small hatchling, 27 grams that refused to eat until last month. That was at 4 months old. I assist fed her once a week and when she finally started showing interest in food scents, what she needed to get started (along with that bit of growth to 38 grams) was discontinued assist feeds and a change of shoebox tub bedding to Aspen instead of paper towels.
These snakes can be very habit forming, so sometimes you need to break the current habit to get them to reconsider.

Hope the little one eats for you soon!
The more info we know maybe the sooner we can pinpoint what’s wrong.

8 Likes