HELP! Tortoise Identification

A neighbor found this tortoise walking down her street today while out walking her dog. I’m fostering her until (hopefully) her owner is found. Can anyone identify? My guess is Russian or Greek, but I’m not a tortoise expert by any means. I just want to get set up and diet correct. They all seem to be similar though. I’ll do plenty of research once I figure out what I’m dealing with here lol. I’m not new to reptiles by any means, hence why the neighbor gave her to me in the interim. Thank you in advance of any info!

5 Likes

If you can show us more of the front of its feet and legs in front that’d add more info, please, but I don’t know that it’s a Russian/Horsfield’s, which are the kind I know most about. The shell color and pattern don’t look quite like what I’m used to seeing from a Russian, though I could very well be wrong. It’s got such a high contrast coloration with that pale and then those blackish markings, and I haven’t seen that on a Russian myself. It might be a Greek or Egyptian tortoise.
That said, most torts appreciate some nice clean hay, fresh water, and a warmish box or hide to vanish into, so hopefully someone will know what sort you have here, and until then, you’re probably pretty safe offering a little timothy hay from a good source. (clean, not musty, not signs of mold or etc)
If I were you, I’d check with Classified ads, and all the local Veterinarians in a couple miles, especially the Exotics, and see if any of their customers have lost a Tortoise. People whose torts escape often put out Lost Pet notices because they’re pretty noticeable little dudes and there’s always that hope you can get them back.

Can you give measurements of its shell size?

Edit to add: Pesticide free clean Dandelion greens or clover are surefire foods as well.