Help with switching to f/t food

I recently got a new female ball python. She was being fed live but I have switched snakes I have bought from live to frozen-thawed before and figured it would be no problem. So far I have been unable to get her to accept f/t and have had to feed her live. I would like to switch her to f/t as that is what all my other snakes eat. Any tips on getting her to switch?

All mine have easily switched so my lack of expertise would just lead me to say keep offering regularly, no need to panic I don’t takes a few weeks unless she starts to lose weight then you may need to assist feed but I have no experience with that just yet. Mine do seem more excited when it’s “warm,” not just thawed so I usually set them out to thaw for a bit then put them in a baggie and put that in hot water so they’re warm to the touch when I offer and mine usually respond more to that than just thawed and room temp.

1 Like

Thaw the prey at room temp near the enclosure (it helps entice the snake to eat) once thawed warm up with a hair dryer concentrating on the head.

when offering grab the prey with a pair of tongs from behind the neck (not the tail) and move it around in the enclosure as if it was alive.

3 Likes

I have had some pretty good luck with getting babies switched from mice to rats, and live to frozen so I think I could be of some help. Could you tell me what your process is when offering f/t?

I thaw them in a baggy in hot water. When switching one of my males I used a hairdryer to make it even warmer and entice the snake with the smell, he responded to that and has eaten thawed since. I did that with her and she still won’t take it. She acts interested but won’t strike.

Thank you. I feed them tomorrow night and will update on if she accepts f/t.

Continue to use the hairdryer and focus on heating up the head anywhere between 100-110 degrees F

1 Like