Hobby Electrical Safety

Hi,

I searched MM and couldn’t find a thread purely based on electrical safety in the hobby so I thought it would be a good idea to start one so we can learn and utilise safe practice of heating our cold blooded friends without the worry of setting our homes on fire!

I’m no electrician but I do understand the basic principles of loads on a plug and socket, the vulnerabilities of extension leads and spltter sockets as well as the usage of RCD in the event of an overload.

I’m currently running 6 x 39W heat matts and 1 x 500W oil heater from 1 socket through a fire insured RCD surge proofed extension lead and 7 habistat classics (200W) giving me a total power output of 734 Watts…

All seems safe on the surface but if I’m not mistaken (and I might be, this is another reason to post this up) If I take into account the Voltage (24v in the UK) running on a standard single phase AC ring with a 32 A Breaker and assuming I have a resistance of 0.78 ohms then my total draw from that socket is 30.5 amps!

If i didn’t have the safety equipment my noodles and I would both be on the crispy side of well done.

If you guys have spotted something with my equation that is wrong or I have missed something please teach me or if you guys can put experiences, tech or any helpful info here then together we can try our best to make sure no warm or cold bloods get hurt whilst enjoying this fantastic hobby.

4 Likes

Correct me if I’m wrong but I think you meant 240v? Not 24v? If so, you would only be pulling 3 amps. In the US we run on 120v and it’s always been my understanding that Europe is on 240v. (For background: I build houses for a living)

2 Likes

I would personally run any oil filled radiators on their own outlet with some sort of additional thermostat/high temp fail safe in place. Just speaking out of experience, because I also lack electrical knowledge where I shouldn’t!

2 Likes

You are right, that is a typo :blush: