How to get a defensive ball python to eat?

I am running into a little bit of trouble with my most recent ball python, opened the package with him in it on march 23rd. First feed attempt was on the 5th(13 days after he was received) and he was extremely defensive. He made multiple quick “bluff” Strikes in a matter of seconds, so i put him back into the rack he’s housed in. Usually ill give a full week between attempts, but since my only days off are Sunday and Mondays, with sundays being feeding day, i decided to try today(6 days after his defensive strikes towards prey) and he did the same, 4 quick defensive strikes within 5seconds. Both attempts have been F/T appropriately sized items, since it’s what i generally feed my other ball pythons. Im still relatively new to owning ball pythons, so i’ve never had a defensive feeder. The breeder was feeding live, Should i attempt a live mouse next week? His weight is concerning since he was less rounded than other snakes i’ve recieved from breeders(think rounded triangle with a slight point).
He’s in a temp regulated tub, has a appropriate sized hide, appropriate substrate, and his tub sits at no lower than 65% humidity.

1 Like

In my opinion, I don’t think you’re allowing enough time if you’re only giving it a few strikes. If he’s striking, I see that as a positive. Live works well if that’s an option.

7 Likes

It sounds like you are offering the food and then taking it away when he doesn’t immediately go for it. A lot of snakes won’t eat that way. Try getting the prey hot and then just leaving him alone with it for a few hours. Also, if he was on live before you should not be surprised if he doesn’t take f/t right off the bat.

3 Likes