I just like snakes. Hello!

Hello there.
I’m a thirtysomething disabled at-home artist with a dachshund attached to me, and I’ve become besotted with reptiles as well. Years ago it was just tortoises who had my attention, and now it’s snakes too.
I’ve been researching and reading and looking for my perfect pet snake. I won’t be doing any breeding, but I just get so much joy out of caring for a reptile, and after years of not having one around I am ready to try again.

(Don’t worry, the Dachshund will have no access to the snake. She’d want to lick it. Nope.)

8 Likes

Hello and welcome to the forums! I could give some recommendations on some species of snakes if you would like? Also, what kind of art do you do? Luckily you just have to put the snake on a shelf or table and the dachshund won’t be able to reach lol.

2 Likes

Thank you!
I do a lot of different kinds of art and crafty stuff . I was trained as an oil painter and illustrator, but right now I mostly do sewing when I can, and spinning wool. As for snakes, I am currently becoming obsessed with African House Snakes. I was going to go for a Rosy Boa or Children’s Python, but the House snake I was introduced to changed my mind.
My future setup space is a sturdy little desk that the dog won’t be able to reach (but if she’s good I will probably lift her up so she can see what’s in there, away from the glass so the snake doesn’t get spooked.) Thank goodness for small dogs with short legs!

1 Like

Feel free to post some of your art and crafts.
I have a rosy boa, but they are rather boring given they are slow and usually inactive. House snakes are great, but I will recommend an Arizona mountain kingsnake since mine was my first snake over a decade ago. I have a care guide for them and Clint’s reptiles on YouTube just did a video covering them. Honestly an easy and smaller species.