I need help with Tub and heat solution

People have told me to use tubs to quarantine ( my snakes are from 2 different breeders. What im having trouble with is finding a UTH that will work on the plastic tubs. My current UTH says its only for use on glass and im not finding ones for plastic.

Im thinking now of just keeping my 2 36x18x18 tanks i have and just separated. Im in panic mode because my animals are due to arrive Friday and i have 0 heat solution for plastic.

Im new to snakes so i have little experience with them and every internet site is either vague or contradictory which both leave me frustrated. Ive never had animals that use tubs ive only ever used terrariums. Some of the animals i had really didnt have this difficulty. I think yall snake keepers are probably more knowledgeable than the internet, look guys i just looking for straight answers i dont want to go buy tubs and a bunch of useless things that wont work. Yes my pets are very important to me for many reason and i do want all my pets healthy.

2 Likes

I use the the heat pads with a thermostat, even if it says glass.
All heat pads will say to use glass because unless you use it wrong (no airflow) it will be ā€˜fineā€™. Because an unregulated heat pad will pretty much always melt plastic, they canā€™t recommend use that way. Remember they can clock in at 130 degrees.

Even heat tape will melt plastic if it is not on a thermostat. As long as you keep the thermostat comfy at say 92 max, you wonā€™t have a problem. Just remember to sandwich the probe between the plastic and mat.

3 Likes