I was wondering should I get a snake or lepoard gecko what do you think?

I was looking at corn snakes and maybe milk snakes But I was wondering about “bigger” snakes such as texas rat snakes and Ghoper snakes I am a beginner and was also if you think A beginner could handle one of those snakes well and was size glass tank they require

It all depends on your expectation, the amount of work you want to put in, what you are willing to put up with so it’s really a personal decision.

Obviously leopard geckos are high maintenance, you have to feed them on a more frequent basis, you have to deal with bugs.

Snakes are low maintenance, you have to deal with rodents, they might not be a personable as a lizard.

3 Likes

I don’t have any personal experience owning a snake, but I do have plenty of leopard geckos! They each have their own personalities; some are very curious and love interacting, and others are more shy and like peeking at you from their hidey hole. I love watching them eat, they get really excited and it’s hilarious to watch. There’s also no waste if they decide not to eat (you usually have to toss an unthawed, uneaten rodent). I tong feed my geckos mealworms and superworms, and if they don’t eat it I toss it back in the worm container. I feed my geckos a couple times a week. Baby geckos eat more frequently, so if you aren’t up for feeding at least every other day I’d consider one 5 months or older. Mealworms are also very easy to breed on your own so you can make your own food.
I love snakes too, but I’m definitely biased towards leopard geckos lol. It’s your pet and your decision to make, I just wanted to point out some things that could help your choice!

1 Like

Snakes are much easier to take care of. Typically, you feed them once a week at most, and less eating means less pooping.

1 Like

One thing to note is that both of the species you mentioned have the reputation for being quite defensive. Think about whether or not that’s ok with you.

1 Like