I'm new here and this is my first year breeding ball pythons, any tips?

I’ve been keeping reptiles for a while and have never bred any before, so I decided I want to try to breed 2 of my ball pythons. I put them in the same tank today just to see how they would react to each other and I think this is a good sign

It’s an orange dream female and a Spotnose X fire male
Like I said it’s my first year breeding them but she has been bred before I got her. I know it’s about that time of year and was wondering if anybody had any tips for me to make this process as easy as possible lol I just want to make some cool snake babies

3 Likes

Here are a few tips to get you started.

• Make sure you have space for all the babies, a rack system is recommended.
  • Get everything working before you have eggs, get an incubator, set it, and figure out temperatures and humidity before you get eggs.
  • Do lots of reading, the search function on here has a lot of breeding logs, pictures, and questions answered.
11 Likes

If it helps, I’ve been keeping a log of materials and costs involved with setting up for a clutch:

7 Likes

I find this site really useful. Live air pressure.
I think I set it to uk, but just slide the map to your area and zoom. You can also slide the date to see the prediction for whats coming.

AIR PRESSURE - Barometric pressure today

1 Like

Patience, research, always ask questions and have faith in what you are doing. Enjoy the journey, although it does get nerve racking at times. We all start out at some point and even the most seasoned of breeders are still learning new things. Probably the biggest bit of advice though… Ignore the haters and those who put you down but listen to those who help you through mistakes.

2 Likes

Whatever you do, be consistent. They don’t respond well to environmental changes sometimes so come up with a plan and stick to it. If it doesn’t work this season, repeat it next spring, and again in the fall if you have to.