Is it ok to make lines loosely started off others line bred traits?

hi all! im thinking of trying to make the most green leopard gecko possible as a line bred thing, but i have a bit of a worry. ive seen a lot of good green leos that id love to start the project off on, but theyre babies from multiple other line bred projects. im new to breeding in this community so i just want to know, is it even allowed to take other lines to combine and selectively breed to make your own lines? is that immoral? do i have to start from only wild types? sorry if these are dumb questions, i just want to make sure i dont cause any issues in the community!

5 Likes

@mblaney

A large chunk of the “lines” you see in LGs are exactly this. Why start off walking in the dirt when you could be standing on the shoulders of giants from the beginning.

A polygenic line is just your progress towards your desired look.

Michelin didnt recreate the wheel, they just improved it to their desired specs

10 Likes

This ^

I doubt there’s many who really want to start from total scratch
I can’t see how it’s immoral but if there’s any concerns ask the seller for their opinion, I’m sure most would be happy to say yes or no and give reasons

6 Likes

I’m usually pretty strict on my own geckos… So if I was to do this project myself? It would take quite a while to reach the point where I feel comfortable calling it my own line.

It’s how things ended up where they are now. Every line started somewhere. Here’s how I personally would approach it:

-select the highest quality animals you can. Look for animals that have the qualities you hope to bring out. Anything without is a step backwards polygenically speaking.

-find a good name for this ‘project’. It’s not your personal line yet. You need to work towards it.