Is this spider dangerous?

This spider has taken up residence in one of my bathrooms, and I was hoping someone could ID the species and let me know if it’s potentially significantly harmful. Temperament has been very docile, and it takes care of a ton of fruit flies, but I’ll relocate it outside if it’s a health risk to myself, my cat, or my visitors.

5 Likes

I’m going to guess that is a brown widow. But I’m not an expert on those. Same venom as their black cousins, they just inject much less of it when biting.

6 Likes

It’s hard to say for sure without a clear dorsal view, but it looks more like a well-fed common house spider than a brown widow to me. Common house spiders are in the same family as widows (the comb-footed cobweb spiders), but their venom is not dangerous at all to humans.

But if you decide to move her, don’t use your bare hands, just to be safe! Definitely don’t bet your life on my ID. :joy:

8 Likes

In the third picture…is that a molt up in the left corner of her web, or is it a male spider? If it’s a male, it’s definitely a common house spider. They typically don’t eat their boyfriends, and sometimes after mating, he’ll actually share her web and even meals with her. (Ladies, you know how it goes sometimes. You go on one date with a guy, and then he just invites himself to move right in! :joy:)

5 Likes

After looking at a few reference pictures, I’m reasonably confident it’s a house spider and not a widow. From the pictures here, she doesn’t appear to have the extra-long first and fourth pairs of legs that the Latrodectus spiders have. Brown widows also have a red or orange (can also be yellow or cream-coloured) ventral hourglass marking like their black cousins, and your spider seems to lack that from what I can see. Plus she’s in a window frame, which is a location known to be favoured by house spiders, but not so much by widows.

If she was in my house, I’d feel comfortable leaving her be, for whatever that may be worth.

6 Likes