Just thinking.... anoles

So we have a few tanks we no longer use (was used for ball python). Since i know almost nothing about anoles, i was wondering if i could get some advice.
If the kids where to catch some, how much trouble or time be involved in taking care of anoles?
Can we place several days worth of food in with them, or is it best to only introduce food daily?
(I know the kids will not stick to a daily routine.)
What is the best types of food for them and how often? I would rather get advice from here then on the internet as it can be so all over the place. Again, this is just a thought and i know almost everyone will most likely say not to catch the in the wild… again, just a wild thought i had.

1 Like

What I’ve heard about anoles is that they are much harder to care for correctly than previously thought. Just in terms of maintaining proper humidity, UVB, and other parameters. However, I have no first person experience.

Clint’s Reptiles did a video about anole care, and I consider that youtube channel to be a decent source of info (just to get started in terms of planning, before doing more intensive research).

There’s more than one type of anole and I don’t know if they require similar or different care. I have heard that Cuban Knight anoles are catching on in popularity.

The morality of keeping wild-caught animals is a pretty complex issue. I don’t want to hijack the thread, as the focus is anole care. But I will say that (1) the legality of collecting anoles where you live is worth looking into beforehand, (2) that all wild-caught animals need to be seen by a vet & treated for any external or internal parasites, especially if children will be involved in their care, and (3) most wild-caught animals are less likely to thrive and have agreeable temperaments.

6 Likes

@mblaney Lol… i actually have this video marked to watch.