Like persistant puppies

Cannot even open the cage without them coming over to beg

32 Likes

Ok so can I come visit you guys sometime??? Pppplllllleeeeeeaaaaasssseeee? Lol!

3 Likes

Oh they are giving Puppy eyes!
“Can we have mouse? You have mouse? We starve. Pitiful. So hungry.”

10 Likes

You nailed it! :lizard::snake::frog::+1::wink::blush:

4 Likes

Beautiful noodles!

6 Likes

Oh my gosh, that is too freaking cute! :smiling_face_with_three_hearts::heart:

5 Likes

Do you co-hab a group year round? I am keen on creating an Applegate style enclosure network for my Mex Mex group…

2 Likes

Just the pair, but yeah, they cohab. year round. Not something I would do with most king snake species but alterna are not stupidly mouth-oriented like many other kings tend to be. Given how proximal mex mex are to alterna, I bet they should be fine with it

6 Likes

Interesting. As kingsnakes tend to be cannibalistic, I would not think this a good idea, but I am no kingsnake expert. How long have you been cohabbing gray bandeds for?

3 Likes

SOME kings have a tendency toward cannibalism, CalKings being the stereotype for the group. That said, if you look into the natural history of certain species it becomes a little more obvious that some species are very lowly inclined to exhibit the practice. L. alterna are a perfect example of this, they are evolutionarily designed to be lizard-eaters and they do not have the musculature to be engaging in attacking and subduing other snakes. Additionally, their habitat is so inhospitable that animals pairing off occurs at a lower frequency and so any behaviour toward trying to eat your mate would act as an unfit evolutionary trait.

Years… I guess about five or so