Looking for a Mentor

I am a little new to the hobby. I have had bps for 2 years now and I have become hooked. My collection has grown to 32 bps so far and growing. I am breeding for the first time this year with 2 females and one male. Next year I will have somewhere around 12-15 females ready to breed. It is becoming a family hobby as well. We started all of this bc my 14 yr old son loves snakes. We have set out a breeding plan and are buying animals accordingly. So we have a good start, Im just looking to see who I could reach out to for a mentor. We are planning to keep building into a small business, so for a mentor I am looking for help not only in breeding and planning but also in connections and business building. I am looking to really grow over the next 3 yrs+. I look forward to any help anyone could provide.

3 Likes

I’m a new breeder myself, but would be more than happy to help in any way I can!

My main advice from what I’ve done in the past few years:

• Make sure you have a Facebook/Instagram/Twitter to post on regularly, so you can start building an online presence! YouTube is great too, if you can post on a somewhat regular basis.
    I’d post more myself but struggle to get myself to sit down and edit video footage :woman_facepalming:t3:

• Participating in forums such as this one is also a good way to establish connections, if I have questions I almost always come here for answers or to open discussions!

• Doing business with other local breeders will also help with networking — I refer people to the local breeders if I don’t have what they’re looking for, and they’ll refer people to me as well!

• Vending at local shows is also a good way to establish yourself locally, even if you don’t have anything to sell. I’ve taken my hognoses to display just to show the locals what I’ll have in the future! I also design my own merch and have sold some stickers as well.

1 Like