Looking for advice!

Hey guys I hope everyone is staying safe during these crazy times! I am new to ball pythons but have had other reptiles for a long time. I am looking to get my first ball python with the thought of potentially breeding them at some point just as a hobby. Are there any morphs to stay away from when it comes to breeding? And how old do they have to be in order to breed? Thanks!

-Sam Glasgow

Here you go https://owalreptiles.com/issues.php

Breeding is a combination of weight, age and good body proportions.

1500 grams should be your minimum for a female and at least 2 years of age.

Males can breed at a year and at a low weight however it can quickly take its toll and people have bred small males to death.

Again proportions are important

I personnally do not waste my time with males under 650 grams.

Females it depends I may breed a 18 months old female that is 1500 grams, I may breed a 1100 female that is 4 years old or older, but if the proportions are not right I will not breed either.

Usually the bigger the female the better, I like them to be 1800 grams and up, unless it is a slow grower older female.

4 Likes

Females need to be at least 1200+ grams while males should be at 500+ grams. Those are minimums, of course. The condition of the individual is important and that will ultimately be your call. What @stewart_reptiles linked is a good reference for the major health issues associated with certain morphs.

1 Like