Mites! I need help

Hey guys, I recently picked up two new pythons, a 5 level/tub enclosure, and a herpstat for an absolute steal. But I may see why now. One of my snakes definitely has mites, I’m not sure how bad of a degree it is but he has them either way. I do not believe the other snake has mites but I want to treat her as if she does just to play it safe. Both snakes are under 200 grams at the moment. I have heard that leaving the snake to soak in a dawn dish soap and water bath can help, if so how long and and how often should I soak each snake? I have both on paper towels right now as a result of seeing the mites. Any and all advice helps immensely as this is my first time dealing with snake mites. Thank you

2 Likes

When we acquired a vpi axanthic het albino for next to nothing it was no surprise she had a few issues… and mites.
I bought a mite (pesticide) spray from the pet store and a natural mite bath spray for the bp collection.
The treatments come with detailed instructions.

Remove and throw away all bedding.
Treat all of the enclosures and hides or wooden things or whatever accessories you may have with the pesticide.
Repeat for a few weeks or something like that to prevent eggs from hatching and the mites returning.
It worked great for us.

2 Likes

Stratiolaelaps scimitus are preditory insects that eat snake mites and fungus gnats…

5 Likes

It’s labor intensive but fairly simple to get rid of them. Frontline spray for dogs and cats can be applied directly to the snake (lightly, and best to rub it on their head not spray their head) to kill and/or prevent mites.

It will kill the mites it comes into contact with. You just have to clean every nook and cranny imaginable if you want to end this in one shot. Otherwise, a couple times a year, they’ll spring back up.