Multiple retained eye caps?

Hello all! I have a rescue with an issue I have no experience in. He/she seems to have multiple layers of eye caps stuck on the eyes. The shed on the entire body of the snake is non existent it’s just the caps.
I have read articles and other forums and watched multiple videos and 50% say to leave them alone and the other 50% say to remove manually. But within either opinion I haven’t seen an example this severe. What do you all think? I have no history on this animal and just want to do right by it.
*I did forget to mention he/she also has some healing burns but they seem to have mended themselves with no sign of infection.

1 Like

To me that looks like much more than retained eye caps, it looks like there’s fluid trapped under there or something based on how much they’re bulging. I would absolutely not try to remove them manually, that seems like an easy way to accidentally blind your snake. Im still seeing some patchs of stuck shed, so I’d make sure the humidity is at least 70% in his/her enclosure and see a vet about the eyes

3 Likes

I definitely agree with @chesterhf on this one. Bump your humidity to at least 70% and do some soaks.

4 Likes

Those “patches” I believe you are talking about are the burns, places where the top layer of the skin is gone but they are healed. I will get him into my vet though and see what he thinks would be the best course of action! In the mean time this little one will be receiving the utmost attention and care. I soaked last night just to help rehydrate and give him a chance to drink, he drank for almost 2 minutes straight :sob:

2 Likes

After some further reading I am leaning more towards blocked lacrimal ducts causing the fluid build up in his eyes. I will bring this up to my vet when I take him! For now I will focus on keeping him as comfortable as possible.

1 Like