My corn snake laid eggs without a mate

Hi! I’ve been looking for a snake to breed with mine and just never had the time or money to go forward with it. Much to surprise, as you can see by the title, my corn snake has given birth without a mate. I was wondering what the chances of this happening are and the chances of them hatching? I don’t have an incubator or anything as this was so unexpected so i’ve made an egg box and am currently incubating it inside my snakes vivarium. I was also wondering if there’s anything I need to know about this process as this is my first time with a clutch of eggs?

6 Likes

Corn snakes or most snakes in general can lay eggs without any contact with a male this is done through a process called parthenogenesis and will be complete clones of the mother. The eggs can be incubated at room temp aslkng as humidity is stable and can take around 2 months to hatch. I would recommend shining a light through the eggs and if you see an ebryo and veins they should be anle to hatch. If you could send some pictures that would help thanks! I would also ask @caryl and @solarserpents as they know alot

5 Likes

It’s not entirely uncommon for female corn snakes to lay without a male, but they’re usually infertile slugs. Were the eggs white and leathery, or more of a yellow color and squishy?

6 Likes

Parthenogenesis in corns is exceedingly rare. If you’re sure the snake has never been around a male, it’s highly likely the eggs are infertile. If you want to try incubating them anyway, you can set up a simple incubation chamber with a lidded container, some moist vermiculite or perlite, and a warm-ish area (room temp will work). Then just half bury the eggs in the moistened medium and leave them be. You can check in about a week to see if they’ve developed veins by placing a pen light against them in the dark. Veins indicate that they’re fertile.

6 Likes