New ball python owner questions

Sup guys i am new to ball python keeping i have yellowbelly pastel female i think shes like 4 months old…i am useing reptichip for beding…shes has a heatmat on hot side set at 92f probe is under her on glass…i also have a deep heat emitter 80 w seting over her hide on hot side temp reads about 98 to 100 f…hide is black…checked with temp gun… humidity is seting at 43%…i got her on Wednesday the breeder said she get feed on Fridays…should i try to feed her now or wait? Ambient is 75 to 80f…is there anything i should improve on?? Any tips would be appreciated sorry for the long post this will be a lifelong pet shes in a 40 gallon breeder all sides are blacked out and top of the mesh screen is taped off besides where the heat lamp is… she never comes out of her hide maybe at night she dose? Maybe i should check on her dont want to stress her out

1 Like

Welcome to the forum! I would wait at least several more days before offering her a meal, preferably whatever the breeder has been feeding. I would put a hide on the cool side as well, plus some fake plants to clutter up and make her feel safe. The humidity should be around 50 to 60 percent. Mr bps are in tubs so I am not sure about the heat lamp you have but imho, it seems like your heat is too high? Others will give you more precise advice on this because I could be mistaken.

The main thing is to make sure she feels secure/ safe enough in her enclosure to eat. Do not start handling her until she is eating consistently, maybe after 3 or 4 feedings. The idea is not to stress her out.

I’m sure others will come along with great advice for you and her! Best of luck with your new girl! :snake::blush:

1 Like

Hi and welcome.

As @caron says, That sounds a bit too hot to me. but at least it can move to cooler areas

As @caron says, I would go for a little bit higher humidity.
I guess caron said it all but I just wanted to welcome you really

Thanks guys

1 Like