New Ball Python

my name is Danny,

im new to this, i just got my first python, it showed that it was last fed on the 3rd of this month, i received it on the 7th. It is now the 10th, and i tried feeding it a live hopper but it just wouldnt eat it. I have her set up in a terrarium all blacked out, with a herpstat redline 2 and a heatpad on the bottom left right under the hide. I use a a substrate that maintains moisture, and i have another hide on the cooler side with a humidity box with moss inside. I’m basically doing my damn best to keep this thing alive and im worried. i just want her to eat. Any suggestions as to whats needed?

I have a Corol glow spider pied python (female) about a month old.

1 Like

She probably just needs some more time to settle into her new environment. Sometimes the stress of a new environment can cause them to not eat . I wouldnt worry too much just yet just give her 4 or 5 more days to settle in to her new home before you offer her food again. Also don’t handle her during this time until she eats.

1 Like

No handling until she starts to eat. Spiders are excellent feeders. It’s rare an animal with spider misses a meal. I own quiet a few of them and they are always my flyers. They hit hard and fast on feeding day which makes me believe you maybe missing something.
Make sure all your temps are correct number 1.
88-90 hotside
80 cool side
Ambient I keep around 84

Clutter next make sure you don’t throw this tiny snake in a huge enclosure. This animal is just a baby she needs a small enclosure to make her feel secure. If a snake doesn’t feel secure it will not eat.
If you have her in a huge tank you need to clutter it up more than. Fake vines do great give her plenty of space to hide. She shouldn’t look across her cage and see a huge long open space.
Also make sure your offering her what the breeder fed her.
Hopefully some of this helps.

4 Likes