New lady just in (with some questions)

Hi y’all, got a new lady, who is now settling into an enclosure, that I have a few questions about!

I’m not entirely new to boas, but I’m completely new to imperators, the closest experience Ive gotten was taking care of a BCC at a local zoo which wasn’t even an imperator. I THINK she’s imperator, from the markings and just given she originally was from a petco apparently, but confirmation would totally help (apologies for bad pics, I wanted this out of the way ASAP and I don’t like taking new snakes outside before they’re settled in and it’s a bit cold)

She has a very rusty tail and salmo highlights on her sides and face in person if that helps!

Onto my other concerns, this lovely lady is nearly three years old. I have no experience with boa growth rates besides sand boas, so I don’t know if 657 grams is off sounding or not, but she does look a bit small, especially with my hand in frame which I already have pretty small hands for being six feet tall (lol) the other mai concern is that she has ZERO muscle, I’ve had baby ball pythons put a better grip on me when they’re relaxed than she did, all nervous being in a new home and everything. When I say zero muscle I mean zero, she feels like a straight marshmallow and her cage doesn’t have much climbing currently since she literally topples over any time she tries to pick herself up somewhere. So besides looks and opinions on that, is there any muscle building activities I could try for her? My pythons get “workouts” when they start feeling a bit softer than usual but I don’t necessarily trust her on any trellis or plant shelves I have up in the room or I the plant room

6 Likes