Noob intro & salutations

Greetings! My friends call me “Bones.” Y’all can, too.
I’m brand new to being an owner of a very scant collection of ball pythons. Prior to VA declaring its lockdown, when tensions were gathering speed and the world outside was beginning to become super scary, my hubby and I decided that we ought to hunker down and face a mutually-shared fear we both had: a fear of snakes.
Allow me to say it has been a very rewarding experience. We’ve had our slithery companions for less than 6 months now & to be quite honest: i simply can not see myself NOT having our “noodles.”

They’re part of our small little family now & our child absolutely loves them, too.
I look forward to learning from everyone here and finding my own (eventual) breed niche along the way.

I just wanted to introduce myself and share with you my journey thus far - despite being a noob to it all, I’ve found patience, compassion, gentleness, and even learned to discern the different quirks of each of our ball pythons’ personalities…
They are so unique and I just… I love them. They’re amazing and I’m still learning as I go along. It’s why I’ve created a profile here, actually: to continue learning the do & don’t stuff from other ball python enthusiasts, hobbyists, breeders, collectors and sellers alike.

Thanks for having me.

8 Likes

Welcome! I’m glad you were able to overcome your fear of snakes, they’re really awesome animals to keep.
I hope you enjoy it here! :grin:

2 Likes

Thank you.

I’m super excited about it, too… Especially considering how quickly the fear just melted away.

As soon as the lid came off and a beautiful young chocolate mojave slithered onto my hand and “looked” up at me… I was hooked… I said, “I am your hooman… For always.” And i named her Psyche…
She was our 2nd.

Our first was an Orange Dream and we named him Phobos, after the Greek God of Fear… He helped us overcome most of our fears pertaining to snakes to begin with.