Not at all familiar with boa morphs - help please?

My wife and I are new breeders of ball pythons, but we also keep a few other snake species. We picked up this amazing female boa as a rescue, but we haven’t the slightest clue on boa type or morph. We have been told she looks like certain morphs, so I am looking for some expert opinions; if she has interesting genes, we may branch out our breeding operations.

She is just north of eight feet long and weighs in the ballpark of twenty pounds. We suspect she was overfed before we got her, so we have helped her to slowly lose some of the extra weight. The flash in the photos I have doesn’t quite do her dark coloration justice, and in the third pic she is the larger of the two snakes.

If more or clearer photos are needed for identification, I will be happy to supply them. Thanks all, and have a great day!

10 Likes

I am not a boa expert, to me it looks like probably a bci I couldn’t guess on local type. With all that dark coloration, especially in the last pic I wonder if she could be a img morph? These are just my educated guess’s, could be completely off but I will tag a couple people who can help more then me. Just wanted to say welcome to the community and that is a very beautiful big boa you have!
@tommccarthy @lumpy

8 Likes

Looks like a dark BCI to me👍

7 Likes

Beautiful sides on that boa. I would think of IMG the head would be much darker, at least in some areas, but that’s just from what I’ve seen in pictures. Lack of all reds in the tail could point to anerythristic of some type. Hard to say, some boas are just dark when they age.

5 Likes

Welcome to the family forum! She is a magnificent boa girl! You will absolutely fall in love with her the more you are around her! Boas are generally very chilled out let’s snuggle and watch tv snakes!

And you will love this family. Don’t hesitate to ask any and all questions you might have about your new girl because there is no dumb question here!