Our first clutch

We had a rough start. Learned a tough lesson on relyong on one gauge to be right. We lost 2 due to low humidity. Our gauge said 99% the whole way, it is not accurate. We put a 2nd gauge in. I will not be playing the lottery any time soon. The pairing was cinnamon to pastel. The 2 that died were pastels. The 3 that lived 2 pastels and a normal. No cinnamon or pewters.

4 Likes

Sorry for your losses. It can be tough to get it right the first time. I had a thermostat malfucntion with my 1st clutch and I lost 2 eggs during incubation and had 1 baby fail to hatch because it was badly kinked.

At least you know not to rely on that gage again. You’ll be better prepared next time.

1 Like

Curious if you’d be willing to share the experience on the forum. How did you notice the issue, did you try anything that worked/didnt? I think the humidity issue is a tough part to get right on the incubation on the first try.

This is my first year as well and I even went overkill and put 3 different temp/humidity gages in the egg box, all read 99%. But on day 5 the eggs started dimpling notably. I am doing semi-substrateless with oversaturated perlite and an egg crate on top. I went for the press-n-seal solution and they plumped back up over the next week. There’s still some small airflow where the probes go under the press-n-seal and I’m doing an air exchange every 3 days. 30 days in today and still looking & candling good.

1 Like