Pastel? YB Pied (Het Lav) Outside Photos

One meal down so I took this little one out for some outside photos. My indoor pics were not doing it justice. I think these showcase its color a little better.

I’ve had some mixed opinions regarding whether this one has pastel or not. What do you all think?

I’m still stunned I produced these animals. I slept terrible the night I knew they were going to shed because I was so excited. I think I may have an addiction to ball pythons :).

12 Likes

I personally don’t think Pastel because of how bright and clean it is. Having a look online more pastel YB pieds look a lot duller! Whereas this one looks exactly like YB pieds with looking bright and pretty!
Beautiful snake, boy or girl? :blush:

2 Likes

I think it has pastel imo.

2 Likes

My vote is yes for pastel. It’s just so yellow

3 Likes

I’ve hatched pastel yellowbelly pied and this guy looks just like them.

1 Like

Thanks!

Haven’t sexed it yet. I’m still a newbie when it comes to sexing ball pythons (boas are easier), so I’m getting a few meals in them before I put them through any additional stress. I’m probably more conservative than most when it comes to keeping their stress down, maybe part of why nearly all of my babies eat rats on their first feeding?

It does look very YB. Here is an older indoor photo of mom (YB Pied Het Lav) when she was small:

They do look very similar. And you’re right, most of the YB Pastel Pieds I see photos of have more of that pastel “washout”. There’s definitely a range though and some look more YBish. I’m wondering if this strong genes in this one may be counteracting the pastel a bit.

If it is indeed not a pastel I am 0/6 on the pastel gene with the father this season who is a pastel dreamsicle. Pretty sure he’s pastel, defnitely different than my normal dreamsicles. But it would be hard to not question it a bit after missing 6 times on a 50/50 chance.

6 Likes

I think that is more dependent on the line of pastel.

1 Like