Picky Hatchling Advice?

Hello! I hatched my very first clutch of ball pythons back in August, there were 8 perfect and healthy hatchlings produced in this clutch. 5/8 of them have been eating on their own for well over a month now however there are 3 that for some reason just not about it, I’ve been having to resort to assist feeding (and I am comfortable with this- I was a vet tech before I was a reptile breeder) but I would seriously love for these guys to take the hint and start eating on their own. I will list the various methods I have tried with them and I would seriously love suggestions.

To start all the hatchlings are being kept in the same rack with good temps, papertowels, water dish, 1-2 hides, fake plants, rocks/shells, and paper towel tubes for enrichment. I was hoping this would make these little ones feel more secure.

Feeding methods I have tried for the picky 3:
-Heating up the rodents right above the rack
-Dropping the food in and leaving them alone
-wiggling the food in front of their face
-scenting with chicken broth
-scenting with reptilinks ASF scent
-rat pinks
-very small furred mice
-increasing temps
-live rat pups
-waiting longer than 5-7 days to offer food

2 of the hatchlings do not even bother to sniff the rodents and appear to be completely uninterested, while 1 of them seems to be very flighty and defensively strikes at the rodent when offered.

I am not super sure what the next step would be here for these guys and since they are reluctant to eat on their own they are starting to fall way behind on weight gain (they are still gaining weight but not nearly on the same level as the ones eating on their own) I would seriously like for these guys to get eating so they can get on to their new homes before the snow flies!

2 Likes

What are your temps?

I would suggest trying live ASF, very small. Also changing the substrate, sometimes environmental change can spark them into feeding.