Picky/un-hungry Snakes- Your best tips and stories!

Most snakes eat rodents, and most of us try to get them to take frozen/thawed rodents, but sometimes it’s a real struggle.

What’s your best-result method that has worked for you? Have you ever had a snake who just won’t eat? Or a snake who was eating and went on strike… instead of striking? (I crack myself up, yes) Did you ever have a snake with a WEIRD special preference, like only black gerbils, or the right kind of wiggle with the tongs?

7 Likes

Feeding tricks will vary somewhat based on what species you’re working with, but last year, I picked 7 non-feeder baby corns because I have some experience with picky babies and I love a challenge. All 7 ate lizard scented for me right off the bat. A few of them ended up being very difficult to get eating regularly, but most of them did great after weaning them off of lizard scented pinkies and onto unscented pinkies. I still have one who randomly decides she will only accept lizard scented (she’ll be doing great for like a month at a time and then start refusing again unless I scent it). Some of the other things I’ve had success with are braining, boiling, and feeding in the evening in a small container in a dark, quiet place. I also tried a bunch of different scents (rat, gecko shed, chicken, tuna, and even bacon) as well as washing the pinkies with dawn dish soap to remove any scents, but none of those worked for this group of babies. Lizard makes a lot of sense for baby corns, since that is one of their primary prey types in the wild. I’ll always make sure to have a lizard in the freezer around hatching season.

And as far as weird feeding preferences, nothing too weird, but I do have one snake who is an extremely polite eater who is offended by the very notion of tong feeding, so he likes to take his time and thoroughly examine the mouse before eating it.

7 Likes