Planning to start breeding

Hey everyone - I have been keeping all sorts of reptiles and snakes for about 20 years but I have recently decided to try my hand at breeding boas. I have been lurking and learning as much as possible for awhile now and figured it was time to join the community and post. My first female is about 5 years old, weighs 20 lbs, 86" long. I purchased her as a Junglow but I’m not convinced now that she is a bit older, what do you think (pictures below)?

My male is a gorgeous BCI normal 100% het Junglow motley (does this seem right?) also about 5 years old, 16 lbs and 78".

My final female is my favorite but not ready to breed yet. She is only 3 years old, 6ft and 11 lbs. I got her as a sunglow.

Can’t wait to start this journey!

5 Likes

I would say your male is not a motley or a jungle. He maybe het for albino because I don’t even see the hypo.

The second female looks like a sunglow but your first girl doesn’t, she looks albino. Can you post more pictures of the first girl, so we can help you ID her?

4 Likes

Thanks for the quick reply! Hopefully these load from my phone, if not I’ll snap some more later today. I do have another male normal and the guy I posted pictures of is much more brown, I’ll send some more of him as well.

Here are a few more of the male.

1 Like

Yeah I’m still not seeing Motley hypo jungle

Jungle and motley are both pattern and color mutations, hypo is definitely a color mutation that has some pattern influences.

1 Like

Also, for the female I am not seeing jungle. Can you grab a picture over the top of her tail? One of the main ways you identify hypo is that the tail rings look jelly like.

Thank you. It will be interesting to see how the babies come out from the male. He looks completely different than my two normal males but I can’t pinpoint it, especially if they are not really showing well. Any ideas of what he may be?

I’ll have to take more photos of the female later and send them.