Question About Morph Art

Hello I am an artist looking to make reptile art, especially snake morphs, and I wanted to do some posters of my favorite morph combos and sell them on etsy or an online art shop, but I was wondering if morph colors are copyrighted? I know the photos online are copyrighted by the breeder who took the photo so can I still use them for the pattern and color reference? The art itself would be completely drawn and colored by me and the snakes would be in unique poses I draw myself using my own ball pythons as reference but I need to look at photos and youtube videos to get pattern details more exact for unique morph combos even though I will not make them exact copies of any existing snakes. I didn’t want to step on any toes in the reptile industry and wanted to see if this is frowned upon?

I wanted to do an illustrated poster almost like a Pokemon chart of all the major single gene morphs, for example. But I know certain breeders produced specific combos with special names and I wanted to know if that is off limits copyright wise to label or list the art that way? Sorry if this is all me just overthinking but I wanted to know before I got started.

8 Likes

You cannot copyright or otherwise claim ownership of naturally occurring genes (at least in the US), so I’m pretty sure you’re fine.

8 Likes

As another artist, I definitely appreciate the concerns!

I think if there was truly an issue, we wouldn’t be able to breed them. Much like how Glofish are trademarked. Now if someone does go and trademark a gene, then that would be an issue.

I think it will be a neat project for you to work on for sure. =)

7 Likes