Question on stuck shed

Hoping to get some advice on a stuck shed. I’m new to owning a Ball Python and I had my humidity at 55-60. I didn’t notice my Banana was in shed and think I should have increased the humidity some? Anyways. I’ve watched many videos about soaking/ bathing. And I know I can do it appropriately. But my question is. When should I do it?? He’s seemed to began losing shed about 3 days ago. Head area is shed and 3/4 to end of tail has been shed. Any advise appreciated.

Ive only had one bad shed with my ball, slacked on daily humidifier, and she had only really gotten maybe halfway done before I noticed and helped her out. We did a warm soak for about 30 min and then I took what didnt come off by hand and a warm washcloth. So go ahead and help your dude out! Or you can up his humidity a good bit and see if he will shred the rest off himself.

1 Like

Fortunately haven’t had any bad sheds, I would up humidity first and soak not as a “last” resort but only if they don’t lose it naturally. Good luck!

We put ours in the bath tub for a shallow swim. We then rub the snake lightly and the sheds come off.

I do a lukewarm soak for 10 minutes in an enclosed chamber (plastic tote) to trap the humidity. Then the old skin can be gently wiped away. I just did this today for one of my pythons who had a small piece stuck to his neck.

A humidity hide can be done with some moss or wet paper towels. When they start to show signs of going into shed I was told to keep humidity between 70 - 75%. I’ve only had Penny go through one shed so far with me, and it was a good one.

1 Like

I don’t recommend baths at all. Find a cheap, throwaway food container with a lid, poke a few holes in it. Then put several damp paper towels inside the container with the snake. Make sure you dampen the paper towels with lukewarm water. Your snake will be shed free in 30 minutes