Questions about rack systems

Hello everyone I am fairly new to reptile but have gotten very intrested in the past 6 monthes I’m also intrested alot in genetics (not super knowledgable yet but I enjoy it and I’m learning!) I’m looking at a not to big rack system and thought this might be a great all purpose rack to use. I plan to purchase 2 females adult and 3 subadult males soon and start breeding next year. If I bought the complete package with the rack do I need heat pads and a thermostat or is that included? Basically just looking for any and all feedback. Not trying to make money I just want to enjoy the hobby!

No racks that I know of come with tstats but most come with the heat tape installed. Also I would recommend going for three females and two males if five snakes is what you want to start with. I made the mistake of starting with males and it cost a lot of time!

1 Like

I would be certain that rack is the one you want to go with. It uses heat cable for the heat, (some people hate it, some people love it). Also it being open sided, it will be more susceptible to the temp of the room, making a temp gradient far more difficult to achieve.

2 Likes

Was going to get 2 females 2 males, but the girlfriend wanted to have an albino pied at some point so I’ll get a female albino het pied and breed it to a visual pied male I planned on getting so she can have the snake she wants as well! Thanks for the imput!

1 Like

agreed, I have to go with close sided racks because I don’t have a dedicated snake room I can keep hot.

1 Like

You have any recommendations around the same size that you can maybe help me towards? They also offer a non clear grey draw which was actually what I was going to go for if that would fix those issues.

So if I have a dedicated snake room which I do will keeping the door shut with 1-2 portable heater work? It is the spare bedroom and has a closing AC vent so I could block the AC and put portable heaters to keep the room at a better temp