Rat Production at an all time low I feel! Anyone else?!

So I have been breeding for bout 4 years now and a good buddy of mine introduced me to the breeding of Ball Pythons. I have around a 100 Balls now and bred my own rats for about 3 years out of the 4. I still continue to breed rats on a much smaller scale because i breed for all my hatchlings and then once they are around 300 grams i switch them to F/T! Yes all my snakes i have switched over to F/T besides 4. Not bad in my opinion. Now I have taken the ones that eat F/T continuously and just tested to see if they will eat live again, and to no surprise they the eat them every time. I guess what i am getting at is people know that i have not bred rats on a semi-large basis in the past 3 years, but yet i always get messages or phone calls to see if they can buy rats. My point is i know rats have been at a shortage but now with a lot of newer breeders jumping in the hobby (Which i think is great, way more opportunity for everyone!) it seems that even F/T rats are at an all time low as well. lol. just wanted to see you alls opinion on if you feel rats are in a bigger demand right now then they were already. LOL That’s my story/question for now. Have a Happy Thanksgiving everyone!!!

2 Likes

I’m interested to hear others with experience weigh in on this as well.

2 Likes

Yeah, my local breeder I get live feeders from has had to start making long trips to pick up feeders elsewhere to feed their snakes and the snakes of customers buying from them.

I myself am not producing any babies either, which is frustrating because $40 a week for feeders is pretty spendy. Hoping some of my holdback females start getting preggo soon!

1 Like

I live near ARS so I just go pick up a bag of F/T rats from them whenever I need em. Never had a situation where they didn’t have what I needed. My local pet store that sells live has plenty of em too.

1 Like