Rigid defensive baby ball python

Needing some advice -
So I’m not an inexperienced snake owner - I am new to an incredibly defensive baby ball however. She’s my 4th ball and I’ve never had an experience like this so I’d love some advice.
I’ve watched countless YouTube videos and read many articles - all which kind of lead to my understanding that once you take the defensive snake out, handle it briefly, it starts to loosen up and explore.
Not this baby.
She stiffens up and stays stiff - I could throw her like a boomerang - and she literally never loosens up. She keeps her neck cocked - in the S shape. I have no idea what to do nor how to proceed.
She enjoys tagging and attempting to tag. If I place my hand over her to put her into a ball to help alleviate the stress she never unballs.
Any advice on how to help her get comfortable besides the daily hold which aren’t improving her dislike for me much?

If it helps - she’s a high white pied ball python born 7/10

1 Like

I don’t have any experience with ball pythons, so if there’s any more experienced breeders/owners out there then you’re welcome to correct me. If she does this when she sees you then you could just be in front of her enclosure but doing something else and trying to avoid looking at her for a while so she starts to get used to seeing you and you being around and realizes that you’re not a threat. And this I don’t know about but if you just loosely held her in cupped hands for a while and just wait until she started to loosen up however long that takes and then from there working with her and getting her to be more relaxed.

We hold her a couple times a day for many minutes per holding sessions but she never loosens up - at all.
And I’m in the room daily off and on all day. The majority of which she is in her hides. At night when I’m in there and she’s out exploring she doesn’t pay much attention to me but will freeze if we get too close to her tote.