Roaches and Seafood Allergies

Hold up……. Keeping roaches can make you develop a shellfish allergy??? (I’ve heard of similar issues of developing an allergy later in life due from being in contact with something too much or something along those lines). I got a 50 gallon tub of discoid roaches on the shelf behind me as I type this. Oh god…… :face_with_hand_over_mouth:

4 Likes

Yep…

I have been breeding dubias for about 4-5 years now and my belly does not approve of shrimp. Shrimp used to be my #1 food of all time. Now I can’t/won’t eat them.

And I am only in my teen years so not really in that “later in life” stage yet. :slight_smile:

4 Likes

I just thought of another meme…

When you ask for advice, and they say to keep it moist but with low humidity…

10 Likes

So what I’m hearing is if I keep roaches there’s a good chance I can become allergic to my favorite foods of all time? I eat seafood every chance I can get and can eat my weight in crab legs.

Thank you all for this insightful knowledge!

4 Likes

According to @t_h_wyman it will eventually make you develop one. Not sure if it applies to discoid roaches but probably. There is no way to avoid it either. :grimacing:

2 Likes

Welp. The roachies gotta go then. I’ll be damned if I’m giving up seafood. Even if they are kinda cute all trotting over when I give them cut up oranges and bug burger as treats. :expressionless: the adults get spoiled. Their nymphs are harvested and passed off as snackies for the scale babies.

Sorry kids. It’s for my own selfish reasons.

6 Likes

The pun is so intense :crazy_face:

6 Likes

lol I read it as ‘shellfish’ at first. That is a good pun :joy:

5 Likes