Rough Scale Sand Boa Advice

Hello all,

I purchased a 1 year old male Rough Scale about 2.5 weeks ago from a breeder near me. This is my first time keeping any kind of sand boa.

Breeder had him feeding on F/T fuzzies. I let the conicus settle into his new setup for a couple of days before I offered him his first meal in his cage. He showed no interest. I left him alone and have been offering him a fuzzy (I have tried both live and F/T at this point) about every 4 to 5 days, in the evening when I see him stick his head up from the substrate, with no luck.

Based on the info the breeder provided, he last ate on 9/25. I also went over my setup with the breeder and he said my setup sounded fine.

How long can these Boas safely go on a hunger strike?
Any tips for getting them started feeding?

My only experience with a shy feeder has been a Pueblan Milk Snake, who I have to leave the F/T mouse on a dish in his cage, cover that side of his cage with a towel, leave him alone for an hour, and the mouse is gone when I come back.

Any insights on Rough Scale Sand Boas would be appreciated.

Hey don’t worry about this it’s very typical of males I’ve been thru this same thing and my first male went about 5 months before eating 2 live fuzzies that I left in over night I’m not sure if having 2 stimulated him Into eating but he ate both I know a lot of breeders say that their adult males only eat maybe 12 times a year too but just make sure that his temperature and general husbandry are on point and then don’t put one in as often like take a week or 2 off then try to feed then repeat and don’t even open his cage other than to clean or change water in the in-between time

2 Likes

4 Likes

And tubs really can stimulate a feeding response for these guys or tight small dark enclosures that is idk if u have him in a big glass display cage but that could also contribute to his hunger strike

1 Like

Thanks!

I’ll be more patient.