Sales tax for the buyer

I am trying to find out how sales tax work when selling the products we have within the state I live in as well as across state lines. If anyone can give me some insight that would be greatly appreciate. I already called my controller and was told that we don’t qualify fir the tax exemption for sales tax, however I’m just trying to get more Information from people/businesses that are already doing it. We haven’t become sellers yet but looking towards the idea because we have animals available to sell.

1 Like

Check each state you vend in to see if they require you to get a temporary tax privilege or sellers permit for that state. Make sure you charge the correct tax rate for the state/county/city you’re vending in. You may also need a local business license. There is no one rule to follow. I’m a contractor, you wouldn’t believe how many city business licenses I have :expressionless:

1 Like

Virginia here. I pay sales tax quarterly. Everything is done through the State’s online portal and it is typically due around the 20th of the month after the quarter. So for example, I am getting ready to pay 3rd quarter (July, August, September) taxes and it is due October 20.

In order to collect sales tax, you have to have a business entity. I have an LLC but it can be other things - sole proprietor, S-Corp, etc. I was able to apply for permission to collect sales tax using the EIN that I got from the IRS when I started my company. The laws for every state are going to be different. In Virginia, you will start on monthly payment schedule. If your sales are below a certain threshold (not sure what that is) they will bump you down to quarterly.

Since this is my side business and not my main gig, there are several things that I don’t have to do (like local business license) simply because I don’t have high enough gross sales to qualify.