Shipping time seems too long

I am new to purchasing animals online, and having them shipped to me, so I guess I just need to know if I should be worried or not. I purchased a juvenile axolotl last week, that the seller shipped yesterday, which was Tuesday. It was shipped USPS Priority and the tracking says it won’t be here till Friday. This seems like a very long time for the little creature to be in a box. I was kind of under the impression that all live animals were shipped overnight, but having no experience with buying this way, I guess I could be wrong. I tried to get shipping details from the seller, before he sent it, but he was very vague and slow with his responses. He pretty much ghosted me after I paid him. I only know how it was shipped because I have Informed Delivery through USPS and got the tracking info that way.

Ok, scratch the last bit, he messaged while I was typing this with the tracking info and said he ships this way all the time (he must have some ESP, and knew I was talking about him). Anyway, my question still stands - is Tuesday to Friday too long to have an axolotl in a shipping box?

2 notes

1. I’m not trying to get anyone in trouble, I am just a natural worrier.
  2. The price for shipping seemed low to me to start with ($25), so I did ask how it would be shipped. The response was “straight to your house”, which I took to mean “as quickly as possible”, but in reflection, the seller never actually said it would be quick, he just said where it would be going.
2 Likes

I wouldn’t worry a ton. I don’t know very much about axolotls but I know aquatic animals are pretty good about being shipped for longer periods than most and being okay. How’s the shops reviews? Is it 100% live arrival guarantee?

1 Like