Snow Morph? in Kenyan Sand Boas

Hi y’all,

This is my first time posting on here, so I hope this is the right place :slight_smile: I love the adorable Gongylophis colubrinus and am curious about the genetics of the “snow” morph: What causes the super-light coloring and black eyes? Is it related to anerythristic genes? I see a morphology page and listings on here for albino KSBs, but they all seem more similar to a wild type’s coloration and do not have the same anery/black eyes. Basically, I’m just asking how snows are produced and why they look the way they do. :slight_smile:
I’m a first-year bio major, so I don’t have the BEST understanding of genetics, but hopefully I can pick up the basic concepts if someone wouldn’t mind explaining! No pressure to anyone to respond, obviously, I’d just be grateful. :slight_smile: Thanks so much.

2 Likes

Welcome to the community! Snow Kenyan Sand Boas are a combination of the albino mutation and the anerythristic mutation. Meaning it is homozygous for albino as well as homozygous for anerythristic since both of these mutations are recessive. The anerythristic mutation is what gives it the black eyes.

6 Likes

Thank you so much for your response!
This may be a silly or convoluted question, so feel free to disregard it, but because they have those two homozygous traits, does that mean that a Snow is not considered “het” for the albino or anery traits, because it will always produce albino or anery offspring? Or can they also produce other snows…? Sorry, I hope I don’t sound too clueless, I know that both anery and albino are recessive, but the hetero/homozygous stuff still throws me off sometimes when it comes to snake morphs/real-world application LOL. :slight_smile: ty

1 Like