Some Rodent Breeding Tips

I’ve been breeding all of my own rodents for about the last 5 years. Here are some things that I’ve learned, between them and raising other livestock.

1. Rodent food is rodent food, dog food is not rodent food. Doesn’t matter which lab block you use or if you prepare your own diet, quality rodent food is an important foundation to a quality snake. If you’re feeding cheap dog food, expect a low quality feeder for your snake.

2. Livestock feed stores can order rodent food through their suppliers and it will save you a ton of money. Any good feed store will work with you on it. My feed store carries Mazuri products and is happy to stock 6F for me. Saves me freight on a pallet and having to store it.

3. Varied diets are a benefit, even if just for enrichment. Enrichment can be as simple as small blocks of raw wood to chew on. Happy rats are healthy rats.

4. Heat/cool your rodent room, your production will pay you back on the overhead cost. Rats produce substantially better between 70-85 degrees than they do above or below those temps.

5. Cull, cull, cull. Selection is a powerful tool. Not one rat in my racks will bite, I never have issues with bad mothers, I don’t have problems with tumors, respiratory ailments, etc. all of that and much more can be controlled with selection pressure.

6. Keep them happy and eliminate any stressors in their environment. Stress causes a chain reaction of biological processes that will impact the quality of the animal from a livestock standpoint.

7. Stop using soda streams and CO2 cartridges to gas them please. A tank, a regulator, a plastic tub, and some weather stripping total out under $200. Respect your rodents, that’s not a lot to ask. Follow AVMA guidelines for flow rate relative to container size. If you aren’t sure about flow rate, send me a PM and I’ll walk you through the equation.

12 Likes

This is definitely info that is needed in this hobby.

3 Likes