Sunfire pair?

I need help please. Back in March I bought a male sunfire dwarf retic from my local shop, the way he looked at me just screamed " take me home!" I’m not 100% on the locality though. He is in the first 3 pictures. Last week a friend gifted me a female retic that was sold as a sunfire dwarf, however she is strikingly different in terms of appearance. She’s in the last 3 pictures. While not new to keeping snakes in general, I’m just getting started with these little giants. I’m still learning the morphs and localities. I suspect that only one is a sunfire… Thank you very much for your help in advance.

4 Likes

I’m not the best with Retic morphs but it looks like the second snake is a wild type/normal. The first one looks like it could be a sunfire tiger just going off the pattern. I’ve only got two retics though and I don’t breed them so hopefully someone else chimes in.

2 Likes

I would say the first is sunfire and the second is a normal but I’m not positive.

3 Likes

I agree. The first looks like a sunfire and the second looks like a normal. The second may even look like it has a little kalatoa influence in the patterning.

3 Likes

Thank you all so much, I went to the shop she was bought from and talked to the owner, she is a normal kalatoa and they’ll get back in touch about the percentage. I can breathe easier now knowing I won’t have a 25 ft monster snake to look after… I wanted bigger but not that big yet lol .

It can take a very rare combination of factors to get a 21 ft Retics. Most mainlands females 18 ish possibly smaller and that alone takes a lifetime to achieve that size.

2 Likes

Even that would be a bit overwhelming at the moment, I’ll consider upgrading as my knowledge and experience permit.

1 Like

Owning a retic you need to be prepared for a large snake that can at times become aggressive at the flip of a switch.