Talk to me about heating elements

My baby blood python, Mina, is growing fast, and I’d like to order a PVC enclosure for her pretty soon, since I know there can be lengthy wait times. However, before I place the order, it would be helpful if I could decide on what sort of heating I want to use, since that will affect what sort of add-ons I want with the enclosure.

Currently I’m using UTHs and/or CHEs for my two snakes, and they do the job fine, but I’m curious about radiant heat panels and deep heat projectors, and if those might be better than what I’ve been using. I’ve never used either RHPs or DHPs before, so I’d love to hear from some folks who have used them. How do they compare to one another, and are they superior to UTHs and CHEs (especially for something like a blood python, where I need to maintain moderate ambient temps without having a super warm hot spot)?

2 Likes

I wish i had an answer but im so new to snakes. Maybe the people that manufacture them may have knowledgeable people if you can’t find answer here, but im sure the people here definitely know more.

1 Like

As far as heating options go che are the bottom of the list. They get dangerously hot, dry the air out and are fairly inefficient.

If you’re using a heated room belly heat (heat tape, heat mat, etc) will work fine in most instances.

Now the heaters that shine in almost any setup are radiant heat panels and deep heat projectors.

Dhp provide the most natural heating. But have the caveat of eventually burning out (arcadia told me expect about 2 to 3 year life span when used properly with a thermostat.

Rhp are next up. But Trump dhp in life span, durability and being out of the way.

4 Likes