Technical Issues with Snake Rack?

So, i’m fairly new/just learning about racks, as I really only use them to grow up baby colubrids. SO i’m not experienced with issues on the hardware level! We got this rack from a local repticon here in Georgia, and it holds 15 bins, 5 rows of 3!

The issue we randomly had a couple months ago was the heat tape in our rack melting the bottoms of a few bins. There was a thermostat set with a probe directly on the mat, and set to 83. of the 15 bins, 4 of them were randomly melted one day with the heat tape blackened and exposed. All on different shelves.

Ontop of that; its super hard to get several if not most of the bins OUT. They keep getting stuck on something and we’re really not sure what as when I investigate, there’s nothing protruding or sticking up. Nothing looks warped. and it wasn’t always doing this.

Now the heat tape has totally just gone out/stopped heating. So we’re replacing it.

My question is, what else can I trouble shoot to try and fix while i’m already replacing the heat-tape? Is there something specific that could be causing the issue with the bins not coming out? And the tape melting them?

4 Likes

The bins melting sounds like a combination of bad heat tape and the thermostat not working properly. I would recomend getting a thermostat like the Herpstat or VE thermostat. There really isn’t anything you can do about the bins. If it is a big enough issue you could get a new rack like the Vivarium Electronics I-6 or Vivarium Electronics I-10 both of which are not too expensive. They also can hold two different sized tubs which is nice. Other than that, just buy some high quality heat tape and set it up properly.

5 Likes

Sounds like the heat tape, the thermostat, or both were not working properly. What sort of thermostat are you using? I’d double-check to be sure it’s set properly.