Temperament of white sided black rats?

I’ve always thought white sided black rats were super pretty, and I’m considering adding one to my collection. I currently only have corns, but I’ve owned a few different colubrid species in the past. Are they generally pretty handleable? Good eaters? Also, is white sided a morph of black rat snakes or is it its own species?

2 Likes

I think it’s a morph of black rat snakes but I have not kept rat snakes for some decades. @saleengrinch or @t_h_wyman would know better. Now I have @ them they should see this and may comment.

However, I kept many rat snakes in the past, and for American rat snakes, I found the more darker the more aggressive. (with the exception of texas rats probably being the worst.)
Just my experience of decades and hundreds of these. But like I said, take my opinion with a pinch of salt. I have a lot of experience but things change. The rat snakes were either wild or first generation back then, Things change with selective breeding, so I have a lot of catching and learning up to do. Well… learning never ends.

3 Likes

White-sided is a morph of the black rat snake. It is a recessive trait as well. All Eastern ratsnake babies have a tendency to be instinctively defensive, much like hognose snakes. If worked with consistently from a young age they do tame down. You can also occasionally get a calm one as a hatchling, but you have to ask the breeder what their temperament is for that one.

6 Likes

@ashleyraeanne Is spot on!

3 Likes