Tempted to get a crestie…

I’m throwing around the idea of getting a crestie to add to my reptile room, and had some questions.

I’ve never done a bio active enclosure before, are they fairly easy to take care of? I know typically you have it set up for a couple months prior to adding a crestie, so I’m keeping that in mind. Also what size enclosure works well for them? I’ve seen kits to turn a 20L into a vertical tank for them. Is that good for an adult? Or is that not big enough? I know it limits the footprint a little, but I know they like to climb.

Most of my animals care has revolved around balls, and one leopard gecko, but the cresties are so cute and tempting… any input or advice before looking further?

1 Like

Crested geckos are great. Bioactives are very simple to keep. They are a bit more work to set up initially but once the cleaning crew has a high enough population you don’t need to worry about cleaning. The standard tank size is an 18x18x24, but I’m going to be putting a single gecko in a 20g high sometime coming up and that works just fine.

2 Likes

Cresties make great pets.

Bio-active enclosure are easy to maintain. Just need to put the work in at first. I have made a little bit about what I’ve done on my website if that helps.

As said above 18 x 18 x 24 is the min but the more room the better.

If suggest to have your enclosure ready before looking for a Gecko as there are so many available and if your anything like me, you’ll love them all.

Will you be looking for an adult it young gecko?

2 Likes

I’d like to go with a young one, so I can watch it grow. I don’t really have intentions of breeding right now, as my main focus is balls but I’m having to take next season off, so figured I’d try to add another species to my room. Definitely open to all suggestions about picking them out as well, and pros/cons about adults vs juvi’s

1 Like

If you look on my portfolio too I have a thread on making a background for a bio viv!