Tubs/tub models/ tub sizes/heat tape

Hey everyone hope everyone’s doing well! I am going to build a rack system soon but am not ready to buy a professional system. I am curious about tub sizes and standard models that most of you guys may use. I am looking to do maybe 6 or 7 layers and the plan is to have four to five of those layers for single tubs that will be used for adults and then two of the layers will hold two or three tubs for hatchlings. Are there adult size tubs that will have twice or more of the width of hatchling tubs so I can fit two small tubs in one row or one large? If so what are the two models that you guys use together? It may be that I go and see what tub combos I can find at a local store. Also, I will use heat tape for heating. Where do you guys buy your’s from? And what all do you need to buy for a heat tape system I am new to it! thanks

You can get the tubs your looking for and the heat tape at reptilebasics.com. I’d also recommend a professional rack from them as well as a thermostat to control the heat tape. A large percentage of my racks are from them. As are all my thermostats and heat tape.

2 Likes

I ordered heat tape from flexwatt directly and rigged it myself. If you have juveniles now and they’ll just be getting to breeding size I’d recommend something in the neighborhood of the 28-32 quart range that you can get from various manufacturers. You should be able to breed in those until they get to be those “big Bertha” girls 2000+ grams. That’s where I’m heading as well

1 Like

Would never buy flexwatt again. Had far too many issues with it. Lost a far amount of animals due to heat tape failure.

Please do tell! Their reviews were excellent I thought I did my research! What’s the problem with it?