Urgent! Huge Die Off in A. maculatum Isopod Culture! Help!

I just checked on my A. maculatum “Zebra” culture, and was utterly shocked. So within 24 hours I have lost hundreds if not over a thousand isopods. Almost overnight! There was many dead adults, juveniles, and even young mancae! I have been keeping up on care pretty well, as I have been for the past 3 years with this culture! No sign of mites or mold, just a simple, well kept culture with hundreds of dead zebra isopods. There is still a decent number left (50 [hopefully]), but this was a bustling, established culture just last night.

Has anyone ever seen this? This was well over $1,000 worth of loss just tonight, which was absolutely devastating. I was planning to keep this culture for the long run, but this has crippled my future plans for this species and I lost some new crazy world’s-first mutations. Anyone?

1 Like

Oh gosh I’m sorry that really sucks!

3 Likes

Is it possible that there may have been a spike in temperature?

2 Likes

No. The room stays around 68-73 degrees this time of year. I don’t have any additional heat hooked up to the bin.

2 Likes

I was wondering were any new/different chemicals used in or around the room? Or did humidity get to low or to high? And what are you feeding them is it possible there were any chemicals on the food?

4 Likes

I wonder if maybe there were chemicals on any leaf litter, moss, or bark? Maybe if they were collected from an area that has been exposed to pesticides, agricultural runoff, or pollution?

4 Likes

This is good information for me, as I just won some from the auction.

Really sorry to hear about the loss.

5 Likes

Nope, I hadn’t replaced/added any new cork/leaves in about 3 months. They were also running a bit low on leaves, but hadn’t run out yet.

I have been feeding them a grain mix I have fed them for years along with the apples I eat as well.