Visual X 50% het

I am very very new to the world of reptile genetics and got my first pair of Hognoses! They are great pets and I wasn’t particularly planning on breeding in the future but I am curious about what my genetic trait odds are if I did. I tried using the calculator on MM but didn’t see the option for 50% het.

I have a male visual lavender 50% het albino X a female visual albino 50% lavender.

I am wondering what my odds are for getting visual albino and visual lavender babies. I wasn’t sure how the 50% het got passed down.

Thank you in advance!!

I don’t know a lot about hognoses but i know about reptile genetics in general. An animal is either het for something or not. The percentages signify the chance that an un-proven animal carries the gene based on the parents. 100% means that one parent was a visual so it definitely passed the gene to the offspring. 66% means that both parents were hets, 1/4 in this pairing will be visuals, and 2/3 of the non-visuals will carry the gene so 66%. 50% means that one parent was het and one didn’t carry the gene, so there’s a 50/50 chance that the het-parent passed on the gene to the offspring, but it has to be bred to know whether or not it got it. So by breeding it to a visual you’re proving it out. If you get visual lavenders the female is het lavender, if you get visual albinos then the male is het albino. If you only get normals then neither of them are hets, but you’ll know that all the babies are het both albino and lavender (:

6 Likes

Thank you so much for breaking this down. This was really helpful!

1 Like

If you want the probabilities of each outcome it is a simple math problem. (It is possible that I can make simple math errors so there are calculators on the internet for this; you would just substitute the traits for coin flips but I did it the old fashioned way on paper)