Water snakes ps first post

Why don’t people like water snake and is there a market for water snakes because I love them and want to Breed them but wouldn’t if there is no market for them

2 Likes

First of all, Welcome to the community! :wave: :partying_face:
I think the reason most people don’t keep water snakes is because most people haven’t heard of them. I’ve never heard much about them and I haven’t read much about them. The market is small but I think there is a market so if you bred them they would sell. There is a category on MorphMarket dedicated to them here. However a lot of them are wild caught and imported.

6 Likes

Thank you :heart:

2 Likes

Do you own a water snake

Not yet but planning on it soon

1 Like

oh mee too, I might get a gopher or a baby banded water snake

1 Like

Welcome! How has your stay been so far? I’m not too experienced with these guys, but wanted to say welcome anyways.

2 Likes

Thanks for welcoming me my stay has been good so far I’ve been a lurker for a while and decided to make a account

2 Likes

If you’re interested in working with watersnakes in the Nerodia genus it’s extremely important to recognize that snake fungal disease is decently common in this genus and can be easily spread via contaminated bedding (and infected snakes) to new areas. At this point, I really cannot recommend anyone purchase wild caught Nerodia from anyone.